Chris Wilson / Film Scratches

An archive of my film reviews.

Me vs. the Cineworld

Wilson had a Cineworld problem.

Only two months after I subscribed to their Unlimited Card scheme, they introduced Allocated Seating with little warning. Other national chain cinemas implemented similar systems years ago, but they never encountered the same litany of problems and bad feedback as Cineworld from the off.

I read reports of customers bunched up together in an otherwise quiet screening, Unlimited card holders who couldn’t book more than one film in advance online, exceptionally longer queueing times, films stopped midway to check people were in the correct seats, and the cinema telling you where to sit instead of being given the choice. The latter bugged me because following years of experiencing decreased cinema etiquette standards, I have formulated an instinctual system to determine my seat, away from the riffraff. Cineworld’s new rules took that away from me.

I was not too bothered at first. Not until Cineworld posted this on Facebook:

Thanks to those of you who have provided feedback so far on our recent introduction of allocated seating. We appreciate all of your feedback.

The decision to introduce allocated seating was made following extensive consultation with customers and cinema users. Whilst we recognise this has not been a popular decision with some customers, the overall and majority of feedback from customers visiting our cinemas has been positive. This feedback talks about enabling the following for cinema goers: offering peace of mind because you can select seats in advance and arrive at the cinema knowing your preferred seats are reserved. It also means that groups can ensure that they sit together and customers can choose where they sit when booking online, or in person.

We are aware of the problems which some of our customers have experienced so far and are currently working on solutions to resolve these. This includes groups being separated during the booking process and customers being clustered together during quieter showings. We are, and will continue to listen to your feedback and investigate how we can ensure that we improve customers’ experiences when booking seats.

Thanks for your continued support.

I never received anything that constitutes a consultation process. Neither did anyone else with an Unlimited card, it seems.

This prompted me to email their Customer Services department:

Good afternoon,

In relation to a post made on your Facebook page about an hour ago, you mention that “The decision to introduce allocated seating was made following extensive consultation with customers and cinema users.” I am alarmed to find that, as an Unlimited Card member, I was not asked to take part in the process – and it appears at least the majority of other Unlimited customers have commented on social media that they were not asked to participate either.

Could you please publish the results of the consultation process you undertook; detailing who was asked, where they were asked (i.e., which branches of Cineworld), if they hold an Unlimited card, what they were asked regarding allocated seating, and the results of your survey? We would like to see, statistically, that this decision was based on the feedback of your customers.

I, like many others, are also alarmed that you have made significant changes to the terms and conditions without first informing Unlimited Card members in writing. When are you planning to send out written correspondence to everyone to ensure those who do not use social media are aware of the suddenly vastly different way Cineworld operates in advance of their next cinema trip?

Thanks, Chris Wilson

A week passed before they responded. In that time, rumours of a Star Seating scheme (which I heard about through my sources) became reality. For £2 extra on any ticket, you can pick “the best seat in the house”, away from the inconsiderate idiots Allocated Seating forces you to sit beside. Cineworld were attempting a blatant cash grab, while not exactly being forthcoming with the truth:

Dear Mr Wilson,

Thank you for your response.

In response to your query, I am sorry to advise that the information you have requested has been classified as internal, and therefore we are not at liberty to disclose to the public, and it can only be used to facilitate the information which is exchanged between Head Office and any other department within our company.

I can advise, however, that much of the feedback that we’ve received concerning the demand for seat allocation has been submitted to us in the form of complaints which we’ve received throughout the years from, for example, families who ended up sitting apart, or, customers whose physical limitations would not allowed them to enjoy their performances in the seats which they would encountered. These are but two examples, but it is a case that some of our customers prefer seat allocation and some do not. It is therefore difficult for us to satisfy all of our customers in this regard but we have been pleased with the seat allocation trials that have been carried out recently. There are also a few Cineworld locations that have had seat allocation permanently for many years and the system has performed well in these locations.

Please rest assured that we value your feedback as much as any other patron who has approached us to address their concerns, and although we feel that the introduction of this facility will be in general beneficial to our audience, I can advise that your feedback is now registered at Head Office, and that our Marketing department will consider, without exception, all the comments which have made in your email, and given time, should it be apparent that our audience is no longer satisfied with our decisions, we’ll adjust them accordingly and as swiftly as possible.

Thank you for your feedback, for any other queries, please contact us via telephone on our Customer Service Line on 0844 815 7747, our offices are open from Monday to Friday between the hours of 9:00am and 5:30pm and Saturdays from 09:00 am until 05:30 pm, alternatively, simply reply to this email.

Kind regards, [REDACTED]

A copy and paste response straight from the PR department. At least they admitted “some of our customers prefer seat allocated and some do not”. Sounds as though “some” of us were at a disadvantage now.

Hello [REDACTED],

Thank you for your response.

I understand there are circumstances in which allocated seating would be appropriate; for example: the opening Friday/Saturday night of a major blockbuster, or a screening for children where there are several large parties together. However, I fail to understand why not only allocated seating has been imposed on every screening, but it has been done in a manner where customers are bunched up together and forced to tolerate the behaviour of those around them who do not follow the appropriate cinema etiquette.

With the news of ‘premium seating’ being trialled in at least five of your cinemas, I put it to you that allocated seating is a cynical attempt by Cineworld to squeeze an extra £2 out of customers who want to be spared the stress and displeasure of sitting next to someone unruly. Along with the upcoming monthly increase in the Unlimited card, and the new fee for those without a card to book online, I am disappointed in the way Cineworld has made a cash grab while trying to justify it through the usual corporate PR buzzwords.

I am also highly disappointed at the lack of respect Cineworld has shown towards its customers. Why has your survey been ‘classified’ as internal if your ‘extensive consultation’ you mentioned on Facebook shows it to be in favour of allocated seating? Why have you chosen to ignore publicly the deluge of bad feedback on your social networks? And why have you not officially informed Unlimited customers about the significant changes to your ’Terms of Entry’ and ’Terms of Use for Unlimited Cards’, when paragraph 10.4.2 in the terms and conditions state we are entitled to a month’s notice regarding such matters?

Based on all of this, I cannot support Cineworld any further, and I would like to cancel my monthly unlimited card. I am still in the ‘initial period’, however, I believe I am within my rights to cancel based on 10.5 of the terms, as Cineworld have informally informed me of changes to the conditions through this e-mail correspondence and on social networking, and said changes are to my (and the 1950+ customers on Facebook alone who, as you stated, “do not prefer” seat allocation) disadvantage.

Can you please respond as soon as possible in order to get this cancellation confirmed?

Thanks, Chris Wilson

I never intended to cancel when I typed in the initial “good afternoon”, but Cineworld’s blatant disregard for its customers, to the extent their underpaid social media lackeys were barred from publicly acknowledging Allocated Seating at all, made me think otherwise. I’ve always believed in voting with my wallet – for example, I refuse to see any new Transformers film even on a sub-ironic level as my £10 encourages Michael Bay to continue pumping out the same old rubbish. In this case, I don’t support Cineworld’s changes, therefore they don’t deserve my money.

Of course, they never responded. I called their Unlimited hotline, who advised I should cancel in writing to their email address (as opposed to the Customer Services one).

Hello,

In accordance to the e-mail string attached below this email, I would like to terminate my Cineworld Unlimited Card with immediate effect on the basis that, despite still being in my initial period, the changes to the terms and conditions particularly in relation to the introduction of allocated seating are to my disadvantage (see clause 10.5).

My card number is [REDACTED].

Can you please respond to confirm the cancellation?

Thanks, Chris Wilson

No response.

I needed to get their attention. It turns out if you end your Direct Debit agreement, and trigger the automatic message saying you instructed the bank to cancel, they will get back to you within 24 hours (and on a Sunday, no less).

Dear Sir

At the moment I am unable to cancel your Unlimited membership as you are within the initial 12 month period of the contract. The earliest we could cancel your membership would be on the 18th March 2015, as this is when you will have held the membership for 12 months.

The only time we would cancel an account within the initial 12 months would be in extenuating circumstances, in these instances we would need to know the reason for cancelling and see supporting evidence where possible (for example, if you were moving abroad, we would ask to see proof of travel).

Kind regards [REDACTED]

Two days later, after getting every swear word out of my system, I called their hotline and asked for cancellation based on all of the above. I rambled at the poor call centre worker for two minutes without breathing, before he went to ‘speak to his Manager’. Cue some lovely hold music. He came back and said this was not a sufficient enough reason to cancel within the 12 month initial period. So, I rambled again, realising halfway through I was saying the exact same words as before. Again, he went to ‘speak to his Manager’, who decided this time I could cancel. I guess their script allows for a cancellation if the customer refuses to take ‘no’ for an answer.

Feuding with a cinema has been a weird experience; utterly pointless and incredibly first world. But if you allow a corporate exercise that amounts to kicking you in the balls and charging you for the pleasure, just because you don’t want the inconvenience of changing your consumer habits, you get what you deserve.

It appears I cut off my nose to spite my face, but there are plenty of amazing cinemas where I can watch the same trash I can at Cineworld (I have a newfound appreciation for my local, independent, imitation-multiplex). I just have to pay for each individual ticket now. Guess I’ll console myself while sitting in the seat of my choice.

(Footnote: Big thanks to the Say No To Allocated Seating Facebook page, Jase Nichols for the cover image I shamelessly stole from said page, and @AllocatedCine for their persistent highlighting of the Allocated Seating issue.)